Alarm Category

Cmdlets are usually implemented around resource operations. The four basic operations are CREATE, READ, UPDATE and DELETE. This set of operations is known as CRUD. Most of the cmdlets support CRUD which are respectively cmdlets that start with the New/Get/Set/Remove cmdlet verbs but they also may have additional operations.

Step 1: Retrieve a object by running a Get command 

You can READ objects by using Get-AlarmAction cmdlet. See example below:
Get-AlarmDefinition -Name "Host processor status" | Get-AlarmAction -ActionType "ExecuteScript", "SendSNMP", "SendEmail"

Step 2: Run commands from the CRUD group 

You can CREATE objects by using New-AlarmAction cmdlet. See example below:

Get-AlarmDefinition -Name "Alarm1" | New-AlarmAction -Snmp

You can REMOVE objects by using Remove-AlarmAction cmdlet.

Step 3: Explore More Related Commands: 

Get-AlarmActionTrigger This cmdlet retrieves the actions that trigger the specified alarm actions.
Get-AlarmDefinition This cmdlet retrieves the available alarm definitions.
Get-AlarmTrigger This cmdlet retrieves alarms triggers.
New-AlarmActionTrigger This cmdlet creates a new action trigger for the specified alarm action.
New-AlarmDefinition This cmdlet creates a new alarm definition.
New-AlarmTrigger This cmdlet adds ? new alarm trigger to the existing alarm or creates ? new alarm trigger.
Remove-AlarmActionTrigger This cmdlet removes the alarm action triggers.
Remove-AlarmDefinition This cmdlet removes alarm definitions from the vSphere environment.
Set-AlarmDefinition This cmdlet modifies the specified alarm definitions.

Was this page helpful?