Key Category

Cmdlets are usually implemented around resource operations. The four basic operations are CREATE, READ, UPDATE and DELETE. This set of operations is known as CRUD. Most of the cmdlets support CRUD which are respectively cmdlets that start with the New/Get/Set/Remove cmdlet verbs but they also may have additional operations.

Step 1: Retrieve a object by running a Get command 

You can READ objects by using Get-KeyManagementServer cmdlet. See example below:
Get-KeyManagementServer -Server $myServer

Step 2: Run commands from the CRUD group 

You can UPDATE objects by using Set-KeyManagementServer cmdlet. See example below:
Set-KeyManagementServer -KeyManagementServer $kms -Address $newKmsAddress -Port $newKmsPort

You can REMOVE objects by using Remove-KeyManagementServer cmdlet.

Step 3: Explore More Related Commands: 

Add-KeyManagementServer This cmdlet adds a key management server to a vCenter Server system.
Get-KeyProvider This cmdlet retrieves all key providers from the vCenter Server system.
Set-KeyProvider This cmdlet modifies the settings of the specified key provider.

Was this page helpful?